@Farmnwife

25 Mar

Recently my PR in Agriculture class got to hear from Judi Graff who blogs under the alias @farmnwife. She discussed how to develop a website/blog for a business. From her presentation I was able to take away 3 main things.

Top 3

  1. When developing a website for a company, a blog should always be a part of it too because the blog is what will draw people to the website via search engines.– This is going to be extremely helpful when I’m developing a website for a company that I want to someday work for. I never new a blog could be so important!
  2. Be sure to have an “about me” section on your blog!  — I’ve already applied this fact to my blog by adding the about me widget so that way people can tell exactly why I’m writing which will help my followers connect with me!
  3. 5 Site Must Haves: Tagline, About Me, Contact, Call to Action, and a Fast Load Time –Tagline: Keep it short and to point! Explain your purpose
    –Contact: get a menu tap for contact to make it easy for people to interact with you
    –Call to Action: Be sure to talk up your blog and ask people to follow it!                                                                                                                                                                                                                     –Fast Load Time: you want to have small file size so the pictures on your site load fast (100-300Kb is recommended)

I’ve used most of these to “pimp” my blog so be sure to apply them to yours too! They’ll help not only with appearance but traffic as well!

If you liked this post be sure to subscribe and follow my blog!

2 Responses to “@Farmnwife”

  1. Judi Graff (@farmnwife) March 26, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    Doing a great job with your blog. I like that it is simple and uncluttered. I was notified of your blog post via google alerts. When you have your fancy company site, be sure to have alerts set up for when you are mentioned.

    And you finished with a call to action. Well done!

  2. Midwestern Sass March 26, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    escapingthetower, the things you took away from @farmnwife were extremely similar to the things that I took away from her! I loved the way that she incorporated blogging with business. Most people don’t understand that in today’s online world, blogs are crucial for a business. I blog for personal reasons on my agriculture blog; however, I blog for my brothers company. Until recently, he was very against having a blog and I had to explain to him that it was crucial for his business with online shoppers. I even attached a sales website in the links that think it with his merchandise for consumers to see. I love the advise that she gave to our class. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

