Farmers take to Twitter

10 Feb

This weekend I’m in Phoenix for the National YF&R and Farm Bureau leadership conference. This weekend farmers from all over the nation are coming together and learning about leadership. Much of the focus has been centered towards social media and the power it has on today’s society. Today in a session they discussed how many people have been reached by simply hashtaging the weekend on twitter. I think it is amazing that we as agriculturalist are finding new and fun ways to share our story of agriculture.

As I sat in the conference room and looked around I was inspired by the amount of Young Farmers and Ranchers surrounding me. I love that the future of agriculture is a bright one and I’m even more excited to be apart of it! I can’t wait to take my place in the world of agriculture.

I’ve gotten to meet so many people each with their own story of the way agriculture has affected them. I’ve never quite understood the diversity of agriculture, but after this weekend I can really tell how important it is. It has lit a fire in me to see this industry grow and flourish. This is the industry that I love and the industry that makes our country function. Without it we wouldn’t eat. I hear a lot of talk about how farming is a lost and outdated industry and that couldn’t be further from the truth. This weekend I am learning that farming is alive and growing as ever! These farmers have Facebook, Twitter, and even some Instagram. They are online and willing to talk to consumers! So ask away! Ask Farmers your questions we’re ready to tell you our story!

One Response to “Farmers take to Twitter”

  1. thesmallfarmlife February 13, 2013 at 4:45 am #

    I think this was a great conference and to find out that many farmers are turning to twitter to promote agriculture and tell their story is great! I know I attend the conference also but it is great to get someone else’s perspective on what they took from the conference. I think what you are writing about is great and to tell others is great. I know for me the conference offered a lot of different leadership sessions and speeches, along with sessions on the farm bill, social media, and others. I think it is great that you wrote about this to show to others. Thanks for putting this up along with your experience.

Leave a Reply

